Thursday, February 15, 2018

Evaluating the Main Types of Fire Retardant Shingles and Roof Fire Ratings

Fire Resistant Roofing Shingles

If you live in an area where your home can easily be exposed to fire, such as a region prone to forest fires, it makes a lot of sense to get the best types of building materials that can withstand heat and open flames. For that purpose, Class A and Class B roofing is the best.  It’s good to note that a local roofing contractor can provide information about specific roofing materials necessary for your area.


There are three main roof fire ratings to speak of:


  • Class C, which only provides light fire protection and ignites after 20 minutes of exposure to an open flame
  • Class B, ensuring a maximum flame spread of about 8 feet and the ability to maintain its structural integrity for an hour before being damaged by the flames
  • Class A, which is represented by the strongest fire-retardant roofing products, capable of resisting 2-4 hours before ignition and to withstand a burning brand weighing up to 2,000 grams.


Your best choice for forest fire protection is, of course, a class A material. These types of shingles include materials such as clay, asphalt glass fiber shingles and slate. If you want to avoid the expenses associated with a Class A material, but still get enough fire protection, a better option would be to buy pressure-treated shakes and shingles, which commonly fall under the Class B category.

Original Post on: Evaluating the Main Types of Fire Retardant Shingles and Roof Fire Ratings

No comments:

Post a Comment